These are the basic forms of the energies in Indian Philosophy. These are the explanations not only for energy parts but also explains the materialistic parts too. These are three- Sattava, Rajas and Tamas! These are different so these compliment each other by their activities and characters.


This is the pure form of the energy, which is responsible for the enlightenment of every aspect of the life. In other words Sattava is the principle of the knowledge too, because this is the knowledge which is responsible for the enlightenment of the world.

This makes Sattava an important part of the three gunas and obviously it can be taken as a self claimed leader among these three because this sources all kind of energies for rest of its companions- Rajas and Tamas.


Principle of the movement is Rajas. All mobility in the world is due to the Rajas. Rajas is responsible for carrying the different things from one place to another place. Where Sattava is a pure form of energy but not visible but because of its moving capacity and capability Rajas is better visible than the Sattava. This is the active participant among these three gunas.


This is the solidified form of the energy, closer to the materialistic properties. This is stable and because of its materialistic properties it gives shape and volume to an object and whatever is visible in the world is the results of this form of energy- Tamas!

So overall these three gunas can be understood in different words as-

Sattava is knowledge, Rajas is activity and Tamas is the result.

 Here knowledge is the only form which can direct the activities to the right directions, because without proper knowledge and energy it is not possible to do some activities. Tamas is the creation, because this is materialization of the activities. These are the activities, which make this creation possible and Sattava (the energies) needs the Tamas (material) to be seated in a place, so over all these all three gunas are complimentary to each other and these completes each other.

These are the Trigunas which changes in the different forms and are known by different names and titles, to ease the understanding of the science, this table is about the relation of the Sattava, Rajas and Tamas with Panchamahabhutas

Panchamahabhutas Triguna
Aakash Sattava
Vayu Rajas
Agni Sattava + Rajas
Jala Sattava + Tamas
Prithavi Tamas

From the table above it is clear that the involvement of the Tamas increases towards the solidification of the Panchamahabhutas. So Mahabhutas are a journey of knowledge towards activity!

All the three Doshas are also a result of these three Sattava, Rajas and Tamas.

Tridoshas Trigunas
Vata Rajas
Pitta Sattava
Kapha Tamas

 So these are the three gunas which decides the activities of the Tridoshas even. 


Must Read Of The Day

Truth behind golden milk

About Sukhayu

In name of Ayurveda centers and hospitals, resorts are common. And this dragged Ayurveda to a category of relaxation and spa only. This is the reason, Ayurveda pendulum between spa and hotels. Hospitals are not common in Ayurveda.

Leave a comment

Connect with us

Cashless Treatment Facilities Available